Returnal: Turn off auto-update to keep current Runs

A major complaint that people have had with Returnal is the absent ability to save their current Runs in the middle of the Runs being played. Some Runs in Returnal can last up to two to three hours long each. That is a long time for those who don’t want to go through a multi-hour Run in one sitting.

However, if you start a Run, you better finish it. If you decide to shut off your PlayStation 5 in the middle of a Run, you will lose all your progress. There is no way to save a Run at the moment, but gamers are hoping that changes in the near future. The only semi-way to save a current Run would be to put your PS5 on rest mode. If you choose to put your PS5 on rest mode, you won’t be able to use it for anything else.

Returnal is scheduled to release a new patch update on May 5. There is an option to auto-update games in the PlayStation 5’s settings. Housemarque, the creator of Returnal, suggested that you turn off this feature if you wish to keep your progress in your current Run. If your PS5 has auto-update on and you “saved” your Run by putting your PS5 on rest mode and the game decides to auto-update, your current Run will be wiped clean permanently. Anytime there is an auto-update, it resets the game thus meaning any progress will be lost since there is no real save feature.

For a video game that has gotten so many good reviews, it is a shame that most of the bad reviews mention there being no save option. On the bright side, Housemarque did state “we hear the community and we love you all. Nothing to announce now, but keep playing and enjoying the challenge as you can!” While they did not confirm that there will be any changes in regards to future in-game saves, at least they acknowledged that they do hear the community complaints. Those are not being ignored and they are definitely being heard.

The official date and time of the new patch update is May 5, at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm BST. If you currently have your PS5 on rest mode because of a Returnal Run with the auto-update feature on, I suggest going to turn that off if you don’t want your currently Run to be permanently wiped clean. Otherwise, tomorrow you may go back to Returnal to an unwelcoming surprise that will leave you massively irritated.