Final Fantasy XIV: Everything we know about the Endwalker expansion

Square Enix
Square Enix /

Square Enix has lifted the curtain on the next major expansion for Final Fantasy XIV, officially titled Endwalker. The long-running MMORPG’s fourth expansion is due out this fall and promises a thrilling story with a ton of new features, including new jobs, an increased level cap, new areas to explore, updates to the battle system and more! Here’s everything we know about Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker so far.

Release date and platforms

Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker is slated to release this Fall 2021. It will be available for PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, PC and Mac. That’s right, during the FFXIV Showcase, it was announced that a PlayStation 5-specific version of Final Fantasy XIV will be released.

The Story

Endwalker will feature the climax of the Hydaelyn and Zodiark story, finally bringing to an end the long-running story arc that began with A Realm Reborn. But when one chapter ends, a new one begins and Endwalker will also set the stage for the next chapter in the FFXIV story.

New Job: Sage

Endwalker will introduce a new dedicated healer class known as the Sage. According to producer and director Naoki Yoshida, the Sage is a barrier-type healer, using powerful shields to prevent and mitigate damage (similar to the Scholar). The development team expressed a desire to create a clear difference between barrier healers and pure healers (like the White Mage), so the Astrologian — another healing job — will be reworked into more of a pure healer.

Barrier-type healers are nothing knew to FFXIV but as Yoshida explained:

"“And because we try to make our jobs unique from the other jobs, we’re trying something with the Sage where they’re able to temporarily augment their own magic abilities to make them more powerful.”"

The Sage wields Nouliths, a new type of weapon designed specifically for FFXIV that looks like a group of floating, magical swords.

There’s no job prerequisite require to unlock Sage, which starts at level 70. However, anyone who owns the new expansion must have at least one other job level to 70.

A second job

Endwalker will also introduce another job, but Square Enix has not revealed it yet.

Increased level cap

While the Sage will start at level 70, the level cap will be increased from 80 to 90.

More from App and Gaming News

New Areas, dungeons and threats

Endwalker will introduce a ton of new areas, including Thavnair, the imperial capital of Garlemald (a new area), and the city of Radz-at-Han, which looks absolutely incredible! There’s also talk of a journey to the moon!

These new areas will, of course, be filled with allies and foes. A new tribe, the Arkasodara, will be found, along with a new threat known as Anima.

The expansion will also introduce a new high-difficulty raid called Pandæmonium, as well as additional dungeons to explore.

A lot was covered so check out the full Announcement Showcase below!

More details on Endwalker

Fans eager to learn more about Endwalker will want to tune in to the Final Fantasy XIV Digital Fan Festival 2021, which will be held on May 14-15, 2021. This will be streamed for free across the various FFXIV social channels.