TFT Galaxies mid-set update: Battlecast trait brings flexibility

Teamfight Tactics. Riot Games.
Teamfight Tactics. Riot Games. /

Battlecast is one of three new traits coming to TFT Galaxies with the mid-set update. Learn more about the flexibility of this trait.

Arriving alongside the Astro and Paragon traits with the TFT Galaxies mid-set update is Battlecast. Comprised of six champions with breakpoints at 2/4/6, the Battlecast trait works differently for each champion depending on their health.

After 10 instances of damage dealt or taken, Battlecasts will trigger a bonus effect based on their current health. If below half health, they’ll deal 75/150/225 magic damage to the nearest enemy champion. If below half health, they’ll heal for 75/150/225.

TFT Galaxies - Teamfight Tactics - Viktor
Teamfight Tactics. Riot Games. /

Here are the six Battlecast champions joining TFT Galaxies with patch 10.12:

  • Illaoi: Tier 1 Brawler
  • Nocturne: Tier 2 Infiltrator
  • Kog’Maw: Tier 2 Blaster
  • Cassiopeia: Tier 3 Mystic
  • Viktor: Tier 4 Sorcerer
  • Urgot: Tier 5 Protector

Riot didn’t get too into detail regarding each of the champion’s abilities. Kog’Maw and Viktor will do  percentage health damage while Cassiopeia can melt shields. Urgot, a Legendary champion, is said to “obliterate literally anything.”

With each champion having a specialty focused on health, shields or “anything,” this could be a good replacement for Void, which is being removed. Void was previously the only true damage trait, ignoring enemy defenses. The flexibility of the Battlecast breakpoints and the fact that certain champions specialize in specific damage targeting means you can be creative with your team comps and counter what the other players are doing. This will also help solve another issue: not getting the right items to build the pieces needed to counter.

Next. TFT Galaxies mid-set update: Void and Valkyrie are leaving. dark

Riot recommends the following starter comp for players to try:  Cassiopeia, Lulu, Xin Zhao, Kog’Maw, Illaoi, Ezreal, Blitzcrank. This gives you 4 Battlecast, 2 Protector, 2 Celestial, 2 Blaster, 2 Chrono, 2 Brawler, and 2 Mystic. I wonder if this means that it’s probably not ideal to go all six. In this comp, Illaoi, Blitzcrank and Xin Zhao are your frontline, providing enough time for Urgot to destroy the enemy.

TFT Galaxies mid-set update: Astro trait adds crowd control and utility. light. Related Story

It’s interesting that even in the starter comp, Riot only recommends 4 Battlecast champions. Of course, it’s also worth mentioning that this starter comp requires you get an Urgot which could prove difficult with him being a legendary.