Mortal Kombat 1: How to unlock all Kameo fighters

WB Games / NetherRealm Studios
WB Games / NetherRealm Studios /

Mortal Kombat 1 is available via early access now on PC, Xbox and PS5. One of the newest additions to the franchise is the inclusion of Kameo fighters. These serve as a compliment to your main character similar to how your tag fighters jump in and out in Marvel Vs. Capcom. There are a total of 15 Kameo fighters in Mortal Kombat 1 to start, but they are not all available for you at the beginning. You’ll need to put in some leg work in order to unlock them all, and below we take you through how to unlock all Kameo fighters in Mortal Kombat 1.

The initial 10 fighters available to you are as follows:

  1. Jax Briggs
  2. Darius
  3. Kano
  4. Sonya
  5. Stryker
  6. Cyrax
  7. Cektor
  8. Frost
  9. Sareena
  10. Goro

These 10 are basically free from the start. The remaining five will force you to play the game in order to unlock. Those remaining five are:

  1. Shujinko
  2. Kung Lao
  3. Sub-Zero
  4. Scorpion
  5. Motaro

In order to unlock these five, you will need to earn enough XP for your character account profile. You get this XP in the routine ways such as completing matches, passing towers, etc. A new character is unlocked after every five levels. In order, you will unlock Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Kung-Lao, Shujinko and Motaro after level 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 respectively.

My favorite is Stryker and I wish he was a fully playable character. We will be getting more Kameo fighters in the future, as well as guest characters to take place in the game’s new Invasion mode. Mortal Kombat 1 will launch in five days for everyone on September 19 on PC, PS5 and Xbox Series consoles. You can still pick it up now, and pre-ordering gets you access to the Van-Damme Johnny Cage skin as well as the ability to pick up six new playable fighters in the Kombat Pack.

What is your go to main in Mortal Kombat? Let us know below and stay tuned for our full review soon.