Remnant 2: How to change your Archetype and respec your character

Gearbox Publishing
Gearbox Publishing /

Early on in Remnant 2, you’ll be faced with the crucial decision of having to select an Archetype. This is essentially the game’s version of a “class.”

When you begin the game, you’ll only be able to choose from four basic Archetypes: Medic, Hunter, Challenger and Handler. If you pre-ordered the game, you’ll have a fifth available to you, the Gunslinger.

As you play through the game, you’ll unlock additional Archetypes, such as the Explorer, Summoner, Alchemist, Engineer, Invader and Archon.

Each Archetype provides you with different perks, bonuses and abilities. It’s also possible to have two Archetypes equipped at once, which gives you the benefits of both at the same time.

How to change your Archetype in Remnant 2

Once you max out your beginning Archetype (getting it to level 10), you can visit Wallace in Ward 13 near the docks. He will sell you Engrams that allow you to equip two Archetypes at once or swap out your existing Archetype.

In order to acquire these Engrams from Wallace, each will require a special item. The Summoner Engram, for example, requires that you acquire the Faded Grimoire from the Bloodmoon Altar. Once you do that, you can trade it with Wallace and receive that Engram. You can now equip that Archetype as your main one or run Dual Archetypes. It’s worth noting that if you do run Dual Archetypes, only your Prime Archetype (the one equipped on the left side of your screen)

Changing your Archetype in Remnant 2 is easy and can be done on the fly. All you need to do is access the “Archetype” section of your Character menu. From there you can select your primary or secondary Archetype to equip. When you change Archetypes, you may be refunded a few Trait Points if you had them invested in Traits that your new Archetype provides for free.

How to respec in Remnant 2

To respec in Remnant 2, visit Wallace near the dock. He’ll have an Orb of Undoing which allows you to reset all of your Trait points and reallocate them as you wish. However, in order to use this, it will require 3 Lumenite Crystal and 2,500 Scrap.

Next. Remnant 2: How to Reroll Your Campaign World. dark