Every Final Fantasy game in chronological and release order

Final Fantasy XVI. Image courtesy Square Enix
Final Fantasy XVI. Image courtesy Square Enix /

Final Fantasy XVI has already been out for two weeks now. By now, if you haven’t already finished the main story, many gamers are most likely nearing the end of their adventure. There is plenty of content to accomplish, but it all can be accomplished fairly quickly for hardcore fans of the franchise.

Once your Final Fantasy XVI journey is over and you have conquered all that you have wanted to, you may be looking to continue getting more of your Final Fantasy fix in with some of the other great games in the franchise.

Final Fantasy games in release date order

  • Final Fantasy I (1987)
  • Final Fantasy II (1988)
  • Final Fantasy III (1990)
  • Final Fantasy IV (1991)
  • Final Fantasy V (1992)
  • Final Fantasy VI (1994)
  • Final Fantasy VII (1997)
  • Final Fantasy VIII (1999)
  • Final Fantasy IX (2000)
  • Final Fantasy X (2001)
  • Final Fantasy XI Online (2002)
  • Final Fantasy X-2 (2003)
  • Final Fantasy XII (2004)
  • Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings (2007)
  • Final Fantasy XIII (2009)
  • Final Fantasy XIV (2010)
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2 (2011)
  • Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII (2013)
  • Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (2013)
  • Final Fantasy XV (2016)
  • Final Fantasy VII Remake (2020)
  • Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin (2022)
  • Final Fantasy XVI (2023)

The very first Final Fantasy video game came out all the way back in 1987. The franchise became so popular that even 36 years later, new installments are releasing. If you were a Final Fantasy fanatic when the franchise kicked off in the late 80s and purchased every copy since the game has come out, you have bought them in release date order.

I always love the idea of playing them in release date order because that is the way Square Enix released the games in the first place. However, some gamers love to play games in a more storytelling way by playing them in chronological order.

Final Fantasy games in chronological order

When it comes to chronological order, this is how the story is taking place in real-time. It follows the characters and storyline as if it is happening one after another. If this is more your speed, then you are more of a chronological video gamer.

If you are looking to play the Final Fantasy video games in chronological order, they really weren’t designed to do that. The beauty of the franchise is that they are all basically standalone games with no direct continuity between them. While each game’s concept is basically the same, the plot of each game varies making them playable in any order you’d like.

If you are enjoying Final Fantasy XVI so much that you want more Final Fantasy in your life, there are plenty of installments in the franchise to play. If the next Final Fantasy game you want to play is Final Fantasy VII, go for it. If you want to start at Final Fantasy IX, by all means, go for it.

light. Related Story. The Legend of Zelda games in chronological and release order

At the end of the day, there is no right or wrong answer. Play the games in any order you wish. If you want to play each of them in the order they came out, now you have the list above to accomplish just that. Regardless of whichever options you choose, you are going to have a blast playing through them. Which Final Fantasy games are your favorite?