Diablo IV: How to change World Tier difficulty

Blizzard /

If you’re finding your first playthrough of Diablo IV to be a bit too easy, you’ll be happy to know that you can actually up the game’s difficulty level. The game features different World Tiers that scale in difficulty but offer you more gold and increased item drop rates.

There are four World Tier options in Diablo IV, but you’ll only have access to World Tier 1 (Adventurer) and World Tier 2 (Veteran) when you first start playing. You’ll need to first complete the campaign to unlock World Tier 3 (Nightmare) and World Tier 4 (Torment).

Even for first-time players, World Tier 2 is a good setting to choose when playing through the Diablo IV campaign for the first time. It’s a satisfying difficulty but not soul-crushingly hard. However, if you’re looking to beat the campaign as quickly as possible so you can get to the real challenge of World Tier 3 and 4, then simply play on World Tier 1.

How to change World Tier difficulty in Diablo IV

You can choose the World Tier difficulty of your game at any time at the character selection screen before you log in. However, once you’re in the game, you can not change the World Tier from any menu or settings option.

If you want to change your World Tier difficulty while playing and not have to log out, you must do so at any World Tier Statue. There’s one located in the northeast corner of Kyovashad.

Diablo IV World Tier details

When selecting your World Tier difficulties, there are a few things to take into account. Here are the details of each:

World Tier 1 (Adventurer)

Recommended for players level 1-50 who are new to Diablo or want a light challenge. Enemies on this mode are easier to defeat.

World Tier 2 (Veteran)

This mode is also recommended for levels 1-50, but for players who desire more challenge. Monsters give 20^ increased Experience and drop 15% more gold.

World Tier 3 (Nightmare)

You can unlock World Tier 3 by completing the campaign as well as Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovashad, World Tier 2: Veteran. In this World Tier, which is recommended for levels 50-70, enemies give 100% increased Experience and drop 15% more gold; however, they overcome 20% Resistance and are considered “more formidable.”

Playing in this World Tier also gives you a chance to acquire Sacred and Unique items. Nightmare Sigils can also drop, which unseal Nightmare Dungeons. Helltides can appear along with Champion monsters with damage resistance auras.

World Tier 4 (Torment)

The most challenging difficulty, recommended for levels 70-plus, World Tier 4 is unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple Campstone Dungeon in northeastern Dry Steppes, World Tier 3: Nightmare. Enemies in this World Tier give 200% increased experience and drop 15% more gold, but are “more fearsome” and overcome 40% Resistance. In this World Tier, Ancestral items and new Unique items can drop.

When selecting your World Tier difficulty, it’s important to take a few things into account. While you may get more experience and drops from monsters on harder difficulties, they also have more health and are often more challenging. Does the increased drop rate make up for the time you’ll spend fighting a single challenging enemy?