Elden Ring: Which starting class is best for you?

Bandai Namco
Bandai Namco /
1 of 3

Elden Ring is officially here! The latest action RPG blockbuster from FromSoftware has arrived and you’re ready to jump in. But before you embark on your adventure into The Lands Between, you’ll have to create a character. And that means first selecting a class.

The game actually refers to it as a “character base,” which is probably more of an accurate description. As it is in any Souls game, choosing a class in Elden Ring doesn’t necessarily lock you into a specific playstyle. The character base is more or less laying the groundwork for which you will build your character.

Elden Ring offers 10 different starting classes, or character bases. Here they are, along with their initial stats and the preferred endgame playstyle associated with them. Before we get into it, there are a few notes for what each stat means.

  • Vigor: Increases health
  • Mind: Increases Focus Points to cast spells
  • Endurance: Increases your Stamina and equipment load
  • Strength/Dexterity: Requirements for equipping physical weapons and scales the damage you do with them.
  • Intelligence/Faith/Arcane: Requirements for certain magic spells and scales the damage you do with them.


  • Level 9
  • Vigor: 15
  • Mind: 10
  • Endurance: 11
  • Strength: 14
  • Dexterity: 13
  • Intelligence: 9
  • Faith: 9
  • Arcane: 9

The Vagabond is probably the most well-rounded starting class and the most friendly for newcomers. It’s a well-rounded base and flexible enough to adapt to whatever playstyle you decide to go with. And with high endurance, you’ll be able to tank a few hits early on while you get the hang of things. I’ve been playing as a Vagabond and am currently dual-wielding swords, although sometimes I revert to sword and shield. The downside to the Vagabond is it’s mostly physical weapons, so you won’t really be using a ton of magic.


  • Level 8
  • Vigor: 11
  • Mind: 12
  • Endurance: 11
  • Strength: 10
  • Dexterity: 16
  • Intelligence: 10
  • Faith: 8
  • Arcane: 9

The Warrior is a bit misleading as you might think giant swords.  But with higher starting Dexterity, this class is more focused on dual-wielding. The Warrior starts off with higher Dexterity, a requirement for many single-handed weapons. Like the Vagabond, there’s room for flexibility here with choice of weapon. But again, you’re sacrificing magic.


  • Level 7
  • Vigor: 14
  • Mind: 9
  • Endurance: 12
  • Strength: 17
  • Dexterity: 9
  • Intelligence: 7
  • Faith: 8
  • Arcane: 11

The Hero is meant as the pure melee-focused class. It’s the lowest level of the physical base classes, which means you’re at a bit of a disadvantage early on. It starts with a battle axe and larger shield. The low starting Dexterity may mean you’re locked out of a good variety of weapons, as many one-handers have a higher Dexterity requirement. But it’s easy enough to raise in the early levels.